My umbrella is broken and my raincoat doesn’t work in Vietnam

16 Oct

Train guards strike a pose in Dong Ha, Vietnam

When we arrived in Bangkok two months ago in the height of the monsoon season, I quite enjoyed the heavy downpours of rain. It often came at night which I liked because I found the sounds soothing. And during the day it was refreshing and a bit of a novelty to be out in rain heavier than any shower I’d been in. Plus heavy rain is just fun, sometimes.

A few days ago was the annual South East Asian Water Festival which was supposed to mark the end of the rainy period. However, since the festival, it has just been raining continuously; it hasn’t stopped at all in two days and I fear it is no longer so fun and novelty. My raincoat doesn’t work out here and the wind bent all the spokes of my umbrella until eventually the whole of the top part fell off.

I clearly need some sort of new head to ankle protection like the two train guards (see pic above) at Dong Ha train station. As I took their pictures on the way back from getting tickets to Hanoi, they saluted and struck different poses for me, which I thought was very good spirited of them.

8 Responses to “My umbrella is broken and my raincoat doesn’t work in Vietnam”

  1. Joan Hudson October 16, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    I know they are supposed to, but I still want to say how well your writing and photos fit together – every time.
    It will soon be wet and cold here.

    • clarehudson October 17, 2011 at 9:50 am #

      Thanks Mum- thankfully the rain has now stopped!

  2. Parthenia Walser October 17, 2011 at 6:17 am #

    Awesome writing, thanks.

  3. lifeatnofixedabode October 17, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Hi claire! That’s a fantastic photo of the train guards! How lovely of them to pose for you like that

    • clarehudson October 17, 2011 at 9:49 am #

      Thanks, not sure the train guards in England would be as happy to pose and have fun in the rain like that.

      • lifeatnofixedabode October 18, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

        Lol! Definitely not – they’d probably ask to check your ticket!

  4. Huyen Vu October 27, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Interesting to have found your blog writing about Vietnam! I was just looking for some info abt May de Ville hotel, at which I will do my internship next year^^. Nice posts indeed, will take me some time to read through.:) Cheers.

    • clarehudson October 28, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

      It should be a great place to do an internship and Hanoi itself- brilliant city, I’d love to stay there longer one day. Also, hope you found all the information you needed in the end 🙂

Leave a Reply

