Chiang Rai market animals

2 Sep

We were winding our way through this maze like market today which sold everything. I was quite enjoying soaking up all the different colours, smells, sounds… until I reached the alive animal section.

There were hundreds of fish swimming in tiny bowls, birds in only fractionally larger individual cages, and piles of turtles squashed inside small buckets of water.

I asked the woman how much one of the turtles would cost but she shook her head and said, ‘No sale’. I wanted to buy some of the animals, load them into a tuk tuk, then ask to be driven to a nearby lake so I could release them. I wonder how long I’d have to spend in a Thai prison for stealing animals.

2 Responses to “Chiang Rai market animals”

  1. Omid September 2, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    I hate Asian whom eating dog , its is not relate to this post but reminding me this news
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/08/13/dogs-smuggle-slaughter-thai_n_926336.html

  2. chiangmai April 17, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    Hi, Neat post. There is a problem along with your website in internet explorer, would test this? IE still is the market chief and a huge portion of folks will pass over your excellent writing because of this problem.

Leave a Reply

